Nine Key Biodiversity Areas

The Ministry of Climate change and Environment (MOCCAE) identified 9 key biodiversity areas in the UAE. These areas are of utmost importance as they are home to several endangered plants and animals.

The 9 Key biodiversity areas include, the Arabian Oryx Protected Area in Abu Dhabi; the Marawah Marine Area in Abu Dhabi; Al Yasat Marine Area in Abu Dhabi; Al Marmoom Desert Conservation Reserve in Dubai; the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve; Wadi Al-Helo in Sharjah; Khor Fakan and Shark Island in Sharjah; Wadi Al-Bih in Ras Al Khaimah; and Siniyah Island and Khor Al Beidah in Umm Al Qaiwain, as per the MOCCAE, UAE.

This achievement reflects the sheer determination of the UAE government towards protecting the endangered plants and animals. It is a result of the alliance between the MOCCAE and the International Union for Conservation of the nature.

According to the Ministry, “These sites provide a safe environment for many plant and animal species and support ecological balance by sustaining ecosystems and providing essential natural resources. They offer natural environmental conservation such as air and water purification, soil quality improvement, carbon storage, and serve as a genetic resource for plants and animals.”  

The post Nine Key Biodiversity areas identified in the UAE has been extracted from     

Similar Posts